Text Size

Site Search powered by Ajax

Rennet

Rennet

Rennet, a fluid isolated from the stomach of a calf, contains the protease, rennin. Rennin coagulates milk, and is used in making junket or cheese. Because rennin and rennet are of animal origin, products containing these ingredients should be omitted from a vegetarian diet.


References
Leung, Albert Y. 1980. Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredient used in Food, Drugs and Cosmetics. John Wiley and Sons, N Y. 409.

Stedman, Thomas Lathrop. Stedman's Medical Dictionary. 24th edition. Baltimore: Williams and Wilkins, 1982.